Round 2 of the Leinster League of Cyclocross, hosted by Orwell Wheelers, took place on a sunny but windy day at the GAP, Glencullen on Sunday 24th October. The day started with underage races from Under 6 right up to Under 12, kindly sponsored by Joe Daly Cycles, with medals for all participants.


The first senior event of the day was the Women's race, sponsored by the All-American Launderette. The race was won by Niamh Stephens of Team Giant Dublin ahead of Stephanie Roche of Scott Quanta Racing. After Roche took an early lead, Stephens steadily worked her way back to her and took over the lead at about the halfway point. Stephens continued to plough ahead, and won comfortably in the end. The podium was rounded out by Sally McHugh (Unattached Leinster), who finished solo, well clear of the chasing riders. Helen White of Stamullen RC was next over the line, taking the Masters victory after a close battle with Mary Dawson of Bray Wheelers. In the Under 16 category, Faith Robinson of Bray Wheelers took the victory, with Mya Doocey of Navan RC and Aine Reilly of Orwell Wheelers claiming 2nd and 3rd places respectively. Holly McCaffrey of Cuchulainn CC took the spoils in the Under 14 category, followed by Elise Cunningham of Orwell Wheelers and Grace O'Rourke also of Cuchulainn CC.


The Men's Support Race was next up, sponsored by Footprints Early Years Preschool. This was won by Dmitri Griffin of host club Orwell Wheelers. He was closely followed by Michael O'Reilly of Epic MTB/Expert Cycles and David Ryan of St Tiernans just a few seconds back. Lukas Oleksiewicz of Team WORC was the first M40, while Joe Jones of IMBRC was the first M50. In the Under 16 category, Callum McCaffrey stormed around the course, posting lap times that would have earned him the overall victory in the Support Race had he been allowed to continue on for another lap. In the Under 14 category, victory went to Ryan Daly of Scott Quanta Racing.

The final race of the day was the Men's Elite race, incorporating the Junior Men's race, sponsored by Aidan Hammond at Bike Fitting Ireland. The race was won by Gavin Carroll (Unattached Leinster) who set out his stall early and pulled out a small gap on the first lap. A strong chasing group was never too far behind, led by Richard Felle of Team WORC, Kevin Keane of St Tiernans and Junior rider Tadhg Killeen of Orwell Wheelers amongst others. As the race progressed, Felle was the only rider to rejoin Carroll at the front, however Carroll soon applied the pressure and pulled away on his own again, finishing 16 seconds clear of Felle in the end. Ronan O'Flynn of Orwell Wheelers passed Keane in the later laps of the race to finish out the Elite podium. Killeen took the Junior win, with Matthew Keane of Navan RC in second place. Evan Ryan of Team WORC was the first M40 home, with John Doris of Epic MTB/Expert Cycles winning the M50 category and Johnny McCabe first of the M60s.


Thanks to all who took part and made for a great day of racing. A special word of thanks to all our sponsors, as well as the GAP for use of the venue, and the dedicated team of volunteers from Orwell Wheelers, without whom the event would not have been possible. Big thanks also to Sean Rowe for the great photos.