Women's Crit League

Orwell have been running a women's crit league in some format since 2010, beginning with Winning Solutions sponsoring prizes before Wheelworx came on board. The Sandyford-based criteriums were ably run by Aideen Collard, Dave McLoughlin, Jen Sheridan and a merry band of helpers.

They gradually incorporated Corkagh Park when it opened, and eventually the league moved there but added a road race and time trials for variety. Orla Hendron and Mags Donnelly took on the task of organisers since 2014, and since then it has been organised by Orla with help from a combination of different members.

In 2018 we were delighted to have Appleby Jewelers come on board as sponsors.


Past winners

2010	Joanna Hickey		Usher IRC
2011	Sandra Fitzgerald	Lucan CRC
2012	Mel Späeth		Cycleways
2013	Patricia Buckley	Orwell Wheelers
2014	Sandra Fitzgerald	Garda CC
2015	Orla Montague		Dublin Wheelers
2016 Orla Montague Dublin Wheelers
2017 Kate Earlie St. Tiernans
2018 Jennifer Bates Team Gerard DHL


The 4th round of the Appleby Orwell Women's League saw good numbers sign on in Corkagh Park despite the weather. It was Wet Wet Wet! After the previous rounds Orla Hendron had the measure of the groups and testing handicaps were set. Reports on tonight's racing are thanks to John Hammer who was on hand with his camera and took time after to do a write up.....

The 3rd round of the Appleby Orwell Women's League saw good numbers sign on again in Corkagh Park. After the 1st crit the previous week handicaps were set and a great night of racing saw some good sprint finishes. Read on for full results...

A blue sky, crisp evening in Corkagh Park with only a hint of an Easterly wind saw two great races tonight. Over 20 signed on to race the B Race and 18 for the A Race!

Round 1 of the Appleby Orwell Women's League saw blue skies, no wind and an amazing 51 women sign on! Read on for full results...

The Women's Crit Series hosted by Scott-Orwell Wheelers returns for 2019 and this year we are delighted to have Appleby Jewellers back as the event sponsor. The league welcomes all levels and abilities of women racing from absolute beginners to experienced veterans. The first race of the series will take place on Tuesday 9th April....