Women's Crit League

Orwell have been running a women's crit league in some format since 2010, beginning with Winning Solutions sponsoring prizes before Wheelworx came on board. The Sandyford-based criteriums were ably run by Aideen Collard, Dave McLoughlin, Jen Sheridan and a merry band of helpers.

They gradually incorporated Corkagh Park when it opened, and eventually the league moved there but added a road race and time trials for variety. Orla Hendron and Mags Donnelly took on the task of organisers since 2014, and since then it has been organised by Orla with help from a combination of different members.

In 2018 we were delighted to have Appleby Jewelers come on board as sponsors.


Past winners

2010	Joanna Hickey		Usher IRC
2011	Sandra Fitzgerald	Lucan CRC
2012	Mel Späeth		Cycleways
2013	Patricia Buckley	Orwell Wheelers
2014	Sandra Fitzgerald	Garda CC
2015	Orla Montague		Dublin Wheelers
2016 Orla Montague Dublin Wheelers
2017 Kate Earlie St. Tiernans
2018 Jennifer Bates Team Gerard DHL


The Appleby Orwell Women's League 2018 came to a close tonight with the final TT round. 65 women raced in at least one round of the league! The final volume of the Crit Chronicles will be posted later this week but until then here are the final round TT  and the overall league results.

16 racers in the B group and 11 in the A's took to the open roads of Manor Kilbride for Round 5 of the Appleby Jewellers Orwell Women's Crit League. Catch up on all the action and results on this weeks Crit Chronicles thanks to guest reporter John Hammer

Round 3 of the Appleby Orwell Womens Crit League had long solo breaks, time trialing sisters, great fight backs, aggressive attacking A's and even tasty treats:) The Crit Chronicles Vol 3 is an epic read...

The Crit Chronicles 2018, Vol 2 are out!! Who raced, who won, who left one sock behind? Catch up on all the news and results thanks to our "on the bike reporter" Ciara Ni F

Tuesday evening saw the opening round of the 2018 Appleby-Orwell Women’s Crit League.