Women's Crit League

Orwell have been running a women's crit league in some format since 2010, beginning with Winning Solutions sponsoring prizes before Wheelworx came on board. The Sandyford-based criteriums were ably run by Aideen Collard, Dave McLoughlin, Jen Sheridan and a merry band of helpers.

They gradually incorporated Corkagh Park when it opened, and eventually the league moved there but added a road race and time trials for variety. Orla Hendron and Mags Donnelly took on the task of organisers since 2014, and since then it has been organised by Orla with help from a combination of different members.

In 2018 we were delighted to have Appleby Jewelers come on board as sponsors.


Past winners

2010	Joanna Hickey		Usher IRC
2011	Sandra Fitzgerald	Lucan CRC
2012	Mel Späeth		Cycleways
2013	Patricia Buckley	Orwell Wheelers
2014	Sandra Fitzgerald	Garda CC
2015	Orla Montague		Dublin Wheelers
2016 Orla Montague Dublin Wheelers
2017 Kate Earlie St. Tiernans
2018 Jennifer Bates Team Gerard DHL


Round 3 of the Appleby Orwell Womens Crit League had long solo breaks, time trialing sisters, great fight backs, aggressive attacking A's and even tasty treats:) The Crit Chronicles Vol 3 is an epic read...

The Crit Chronicles 2018, Vol 2 are out!! Who raced, who won, who left one sock behind? Catch up on all the news and results thanks to our "on the bike reporter" Ciara Ni F

Tuesday evening saw the opening round of the 2018 Appleby-Orwell Women’s Crit League.

The Women's Crit Series hosted by Scott-Orwell Wheelers returns for 2018 and this year we are delighted to welcome a new sponsor – Appleby Jewelers. The league welcomes all levels and abilities of women racing from absolute beginners to experienced veterans. The first race of the series will take place on Tuesday 10th April....

The Crit Chronicles make their way down the N81 to Brittas for the fifth round's Road Race.