Boot Inn League Race 2

Click here to see pictures of the race.

Monica Marconi <br />(Photo courtesy of Brendan Culleton)

Round 2 of the women only Boot Inn League was won by Orwell Wheeler's Michelle Geoghegan, in what was one of the most exciting league races to date.

It was the second round of the Boot Inn last night – this year the league is being run for 6 weeks consecutively and will finish at the end of May. The Wicklow Women's League and the Women's Track League will kick off after this to take us through the rest of the summer.

USHER IRISH ROAD CLUB took on the running of last night's race and I'd like to thank – Alice Sherratt, Gary McElroy and Andrew Usher for coming out to help. Thanks must also go to the brave marshals who stood on windy corners – John Stephens, Sean Lally, Enda, Ronan and Eve (Lucan Staggs). Mr. Camera himself - Brendan Culleton – was there too for the photographic evidence.

Last night's event was a coached event under the steady guidance of our mentor Paddy Doran with Anto Moran (Ravens) and Hugh Byrne (Swords) coaching Limit and Semi-Scratch groups.

To the race:

There were 3 groups on the road; a very strong Scratch group, a strong Semi-Scratch group and a fair size Limit group. It was great to see new faces giving racing a try - and nice to have the regulars back too.

The Limit group took off under the guidance of Anto Moran and were working very well together.

Scratch caught the Semi-Scratch going in to the second lap and when the group passed the finish line for the second time, they were altogether.

Orla attacked the Scratch group after the finish line and Michelle went with her but they were brought back. Going in to the windy junction, Orla attacked again and was brought back and Michelle counter-attacked and took Sinead Jennings and Roisin Kennedy with her. They worked very well together in the break to stay away to the finish line.

Limit was caught by the break going in to the last lap. Niamh Stephens, Orla McEvoy and Sandra Telford stayed with them to complete the top six. As the pace increased coming up to the last roundabout only young Sandra Telford could stay the pace of the Geoghegan gang.

Orla Hendron was chasing hard to get across to them with Siobhan Jacob and Caroline Ryan hot on her heels.

The sprint for the line was led out by Roisin Kennedy who was overtaken by Michelle (Orwell Wheelers) to take the win. Second was Roisin (Lucan Staggs) who put in a very strong ride and third was Sinead Jennings (who last competed in the Boot Inn in 2003), 4th Sandra Telford (Orwell Wheelers), 5th Niamh Stephens (UCD) and 6th Orla McEvoy (Bray Wheelers).

Michelle said 'This was a tough night's racing but I'm so happy I won. I'll be back next week. I love the Boot Inn!'


Race 2

1. Michelle Geoghegan (Orwell Wheelers)
2. Roisin Kennedy (Lucan Staggs)
3. Sinead Jennings
4. Sandra Telford (Orwell Wheelers)
5. Niamh Stephens (UCD)
6. Orla McEvoy (Bray Wheelers)

Ranking after Round 2

1. Róisín Kennedy (Staggs Lucan CRC) - 20 points adj.
2. Caroline Ryan (Garda Cycling Club) - 14 points adj.
3. Monica Marconi (Orwell Dundrum TC) - 13 points adj.
3. Sandra Telford (Orwell Dundrum TC) - 13 points adj.

5. Geraldine Gill (Dunboyne CC / Cycleways) - 12 points adj.
5. Niamh Stephens (UCD CC) - 12 points adj.
6. Heather Boyle (Ravens CRT) - 11 points adj.
6. Siobhan Jacob (Unattached) - 11 points adj.
6. Orla McEvoy (Bray Wheelers) - 11 points adj.
6. Michelle Geoghegan (Orwell Dundrum TC) - 11 points adj.
11. Julia Phillips (Orwell Dundrum TC) - 10 points adj.
11. Ciara Lyons (Orwell Dundrum TC) - 10 points adj.

11. Kathleen Gill (Bohermeen) - 10 points adj.
11. Laura Banfield (U/A) - 10 points adj.
11. Natiele Grieve (Orwell Dundrum TC) - 10 points adj.
11. Fiona Moloney () - 10 points adj.
11. Aideen Collard (Orwell Dundrum TC) - 10 points adj.
11. Orla Hendron (Orwell Dundrum TC) - 10 points adj.

19. Sinead Jennings (N/A) - 9 points adj.
20. Maja Dyson (Staggs Lucan CRC) - 5 points adj.
20. Theresa Heffernan (U/A) - 5 points adj.
20. Rachel Keegan (Swords) - 5 points adj.
20. Fionnuala Ni Bhradaigh (Bray Wheelers) - 5 points adj.
20. Coleen Foley (Swords) - 5 points adj.
20. Sandra Fitzgerald (Staggs Lucan CRC) - 5 points adj.
20. Leah Dempsey (Orwell Dundrum TC) - 5 points adj.
20. Joanne Hickey (Usher IRC) - 5 points adj.
20. Valerie Considine (Usher IRC) - 5 points adj.