The Club League has always been the basis of racing within the club since it's first racing season in 1949. It has followed various different formats across the years, sometimes combined with other clubs, sometimes on our own. 

Through the glory days of the Kelly-Roche era the league was a great success, and in the early 1990s the newly founded St. Tiernans came to race within the Orwell league, but with numbers dwindling each year the decision was finally taken to merge with the Irish Road Club's league in 1995.

This new Inter-club league was originally called the AMEV(IRC)/Bell(Orwell) league, and comprised of the IMBRC, the Irish Road Club, Orwell Wheelers and St. Tiernans. Staggs (Lucan) joined in 1997, and in 98 IMBRC were replaced briefly by UCD. While a number of other clubs dropped in and out of the league for a season or two along the way those four clubs formed the core of the league for the following 16 years.. The league grew into a massive success, but in the years up to 2013 it became a victim of that success, with huge numbers turning up on Thursday evenings.

In January 2013, Orwell – as the biggest club in the ICL - made the decision at an EGM to return to an Orwell only league.

News articles about club racing are available via League -> Reports.

2013 Orwell League winner Eric Downey receives his trophy from Club President Dave Tansey


Previous results

Historical Winners and Medallists

Excel document 2022 Orwell League results (Killian O'Brien)

2021 Orwell League results (Eoin Ahern)

2020 Orwell League results (Brian McNally)

Excel document 2019 Orwell League results (Ruairi Byrne)

Excel document 2018 Orwell League results (Brian McNally)

Excel document 2017 Orwell League results (Valdis Andersons)

Excel document 2016 Orwell League results (Brian McNally)

Excel document 2015 Orwell League results (Brian McArdle)

Excel document 2014 Orwell League results (Pat O'Brien)

Excel document 2013 Orwell League results (Eric Downey)

Excel document 2012 Inter-Club League results

Excel document 2011 Inter-Club League results

Excel document 2010 Inter-Club League results




Have a look below, Orwell League events are marked with an OL or CL.