Orwell's emerging talent produced the best results after a hard day of racing at the Ben McKenna Memorial race in Balbriggan last Sunday.

Charlotte McDonald was a fine fourth in the 2-lap women's racing on the testing Naul-Ballyboughal in North County Dublin, finding the strength to hang on for a top finishing position on the ramp up to the finish line.

In the A3 race, Gavin Dodd struck out early in the sprint for second place behind solo winner Eoin McGovern but, despite mistiming his jump, showed great courage and strength to hang on for the 11th place envelope.

Just behind him, two of Orwell’s three juniors in the race, Sean McKenna and Craig Arrigan mopped up the unplaced junior prizes. Fionn Sheridan had also shown strong form throughout the 80km.

An honourable mention goes to Dave Coughlan who was unfortunate to puncture out of the main A1/A2 race after forcing his way into a strong group contending for top prizes.

Coughlan had also raced strongly the night before to make the seven-man A2 selection that raced across to the A3 group in the Harry Reynolds Memorial.

Ben McKenna Memorial, April 1st

Womens Race
1, Amy Brice (Phoenix CC);
2, Geraldine Gill (Bohermeen CC);
3, Tanya Moran (Unattached);
4, Charlotte McDonald (DTC Orwell Wheelers);
5, Francine Meehan (Tullamore CC).

A3 Race
1, Eoin McGovern (Dublin Wheelers);
2, Danny Bruton (DID Dunboyne) (Jun);
3, Cormac Clarke (Newry Wheelers) (Jun);
4, Sean Loughran (Cuchulainn CC);
5, Eoin Deegan (Eurocycles);
6, Aidan Yates (Usher IRC);
7, Ciaran Campbell (Drogheda Wheelers) (Jun);
8, Shaun Rigley (South Dublin Zilcom) (Jun);
9, Michael Doyle (Barrow Wheelers);
10, Eoin Morton (UCD);
11, Gavin Dodd (Orwell Wheelers);
12, Gareth Gormley (Rocky Mountain);
13, Angus Fyffe (Omagh Wheelers);
14, Mark Driver (Slaney CC);
15, Barrick Parker (UCD).

Unplaced Junior
1, Sean McKenna (DTC Orwell Wheelers);
2,  Craig Arrigan (DTC Orwell Wheelers).