Open Racing Roundup

After a slightly fallow period over the previous couple of  weeks, Orwell’s open racers hit a purple patch of form in Stamullen last weekend despite many of the prize winners carrying fatigue of a sustained block of racing.

Dan Whiting scored his long promised second placing of the season with a seventh place finish in Friday evening’s 53km Brendan Carroll Memorial, scant if welcome reward for a bout of repeated attacking from the always positive Englishman early in the race.

Behind him, Pat O’Brien offered Eddie Lynch a lead out for an A3 prize and succeeded in scooping second A2 into the bargain with Lynch third A3 and delighted to be collecting stationery for the third time this season following two tough seasons.

Saturday’s fare in the Monie and Pat Nolan Memorial at Balscadden provided more rich pickings for the Orwell clan as Brian McArdle continued his unique approach to road racing by refusing to train unless he’s given someone ten euro and pinned a number to his back.

The much travelled racing sophomore once again displayed his natural talent by finishing third A4 while in the youth racing there were awards for the Kaye Mellor siblings Timothy and Rachael who finished third and fifth, respectively.

Sunday’s Stamullen GP programme on the challenging 18km Naul-Snowtown circuit provided the Ras aspirants with their eight day of racing in ten and the squad showed the quality of their preparation as they raced strongly throughout the Joey Whyte Memorial A1-A2 race.

Diarmuid Collins gave himself further food for thought regarding his tentative plans for a holiday from racing in late May by taking the second A2 prize, with Aidan Collins in the money with ninth A2 and Pat O’Brien 11th in class.

Earlier Timothy Kaye Mellor’s blossoming form produced a prize for the second day in a row with sixth in the Under 14 race.

Brian McArdle’s form is another who benefits from sustained bouts of activity as his third race in four days did not prevent him from sprinting home strongly on the ramp up through Stamullen village for third place in the A4 race.

Finally, Orla Hendron produced Orwell’s top finish of the weekend as she sprinted in for second place in the first round of the Trek Women’s Classic League that was part of the four-lap, 75km A3 race.


Stamullen Weekend


BRENDAN CARROLL MEMORIAL - Fri 13th April at Piltown (outside Julianstown)
1, Mark Dowling (DID Dunboyne);
2, Fiachra O'Mhuire (DID Dunboyne);
3, Aidan Crowley (DID Dunboyne);
4, Javan Nulty (DID Dunboyne);
5, Colm Laverty (Stamullen M Donnelly);
6, Tim O'Regan (DID Dunboyne);
7, Daniel Whiting (Orwell Wheelers);
8, John Caffrey (Lucan CC).

1, A2 Jason Howick (Bray Wheelers);
2, A2 Patrick O'Brien (Orwell Wheelers);
3, A2 Alan Burke (Kilcullen CC).

1, A3 Simon O'Dea (Navan RC);
2, A3 Conor Grimes (Clann Eireann CC);
3, A3 Eddie Lynch (Orwell Wheelers).


Senior Race
1, Ian Richardson (UCD);
2, Daniel Kirwan (Lucan CC);
3, Paddy Deegan (EuroCycles);
4, Mark Dowling (DID Dunboyne);
5, Craig Sweetman (Stamullen M Donnelly); 
6, Chris Reilly (Bohermeen CC);
7, Danny Bruton (DID Dunboyne);
8, Will McCabe (EuroCycles).

1, Art McManus (Sth Dublin CC);
2, John Kelly (Dublin Wheelers CC);
3, Raymond Dunlop (Lakelands CC).

1, Eoin Deegan (EuroCycles);
2, Mike Millar (Phoenix CC);
3, Rory Farrell (Lucan CC).

1, David Dargle (Stamullen M Donnelly RC);
2, Dermot Treleaven (Swords CC);
3, Brian McArdle (Orwell Wheelers);

Under 14
1, Dion McCarthy (Fermoy CC);
2, Adam Stenson (Lucan CC);
3, Timothy Kaye Mellor (Orwell Wheelers);
4, Conor McLoughlin (Newry Whlrs);
5, Rachel Kaye Mellor (Orwell Wheelers);
6, Conor Hehir (Lucan CC).


Joey Whyte Memorial Cup - (A1 Race)

1, Mark Dowling (DID Dunboyne), 2hr50m12s;
2, Fiachra O’Mhuire (DID Dunboyne);
3, Ryan Sherlock (Cycleways);
4, Greg Swinand (Usher IRC);
5, David Wherity (Stamullen M Donnelly) (Winner of the Patrick Kennedy Memorial Cup for first Senior A2 rider across the line);
6, Liam McAllister (Chain Reaction Cycles Vitus); 
7, Conor McAllister (Chain Reaction Cycles Vitus); 
8, David Peelo (Murphy Surveys).

1, Ross Collins (UCD);
2, Diarmuid Collins (Orwell Wheelers);
3, Javan Nulty (DID Dunboyne);
4, Peter Rimmer (Mullingar);
5, Mike Brookfield (UCD);
6, Damien McDonald (TDR);
7, Art McManus, (South Dublin CC);
8, Colm Laverty (Stamullen RC).

WOMEN'S RACE (Trek Classic League)
1, Sara Ortiz (Black Rose Racing Club);
2, Orla Hendron (Orwell Wheelers CC); 
3, Laura Banfield (Swords CC).

1, David Dargle (Stamullen M Donnelly) (Received the SafeLink Shield);
2, Dermot Treleaven (Swords CC);
3, Brian McArdle (Orwell Wheelers);
4, Pat Doocey (Navan RC);
5, Gerard Dunne (Clonard CC);
6, Phil O’Flaherty (Swords CC).

1, Dion McCarthy (Fermoy CC);
2, Jake Gray (East Tyrone CC);
3, Adam Stenson (Lucan CRC);
4, Reece Young (Slaney CC);
5, Conor McLoughlin (Newry Whlrs);
6, Thomas Kaye Mellor (Orwell Wheelers).