Orwell's Odhran Connors was rewarded for a strong ride the Shay Elliott Memorial by finishing in the prizes, as sixth unplaced A2.

The Shay Elliott is the most prestigious one day race on the Irish racing calendar and attracts a strong field of international riders along with Ireland's top domestic talent.

This year's edition was particularly tough with the pace driven up early in the day by a strong break escaping containing the eventual winner Philip Lavery.

Most of Orwell's top riders started in the race, with Aidan Collins attempting to get into some early moves and Brian Ahern prominent in the efforts to reel in Lavery and his breakaway companions.

Connors capped a very strong ride by being the only Orwell rider in the prizes. His performance at the Shay Elliott will make him a valuable addition to the LK bikes Donegal team, who will ride the An Post Rás with as a guest rider.

Shay Elliott Memorial 140km
1 Philip Lavery (Node 4)
2 Kieran Friend (Node 4)
3 Ryan Sherlock (Cycleways CC)
4 Frazer Duncan (EuroCycles)
5 Greg Swinand (Usher IRC)
6 Colm Cassidy (UCD)
7 Fiachra O'Muire (DID/Dunboyne CC)
8 Thomas Martin (EuroCycles)
9 John O'Shea (IVERK Carrick Wheelers)
10 Andrew Meehan (DID Dunboyne CC)
11 James (Sampson (Node 4)
12 David Peelo (Murphy Surveyors Kilcullen CC)

Unplaced A2
1 Simon Ryan (DMG-Visit Nenagh)
2 Marc Potts (Omagh)
3 Keith Walls (DID Dunboyne)
4 Peter Rimmer (Lakeside Mullingar)
6 Chris Reilly (Bohermeen)
6 Odhran Connors (Orwell Wheelers)
7 John Kelly (Dublin Wheelers CC)
8 Geoff Sheehan (South Dublin CC)