Earlier this summer the Cycling Ireland Youth Commission announced the under 16 teams for the European Youth Olympic Road race and time trial events. Congratulations to Caoimhe who was selected to travel as part of the 3 person girls team and to Ronan O'Connor who is the reserve on the boys team.

Caoimhe May Scott Orwell Wheelers
Aoife O Brien Lakeside Wheelers
Erin Creighton Mc Convey Cycles
(Reserve Rider Katie Neill Carn Wheelers)

Darren Rafferty Island Wheelers
Adam Gilsenan Bohermeen CC
Mark Mc Garry Dungarvan
(Reserve Rider Ronan O Connor Scott Orwell Wheelers)

The 2019 Summer EYOF take place in the city of Baku, Azerbaijan between the 21st and 27th of July.

From the EYO Website:
"Held under the patronage of the IOC, and the pride of the European Olympic Committees with 25 years of tradition, the EYOF is the first top European multi-sport event aimed at young athletes aged 14 to 18. There is a winter and a summer edition, which take place in two-year cycles, in odd-numbered years. The EYOF belongs to the European Olympic Committees (EOC).

The event takes place under the Olympic flag, and is rich with Olympic traditions: from the burning flame to athletes’ and officials’ oaths. It is at the EYOF that many of Europe’s inspiring sports stars of tomorrow take their first steps on the international stage. And while some may enjoy EYOF as a stepping-stone to Olympic greatness, all who participate take home friendships and experiences to last a lifetime.

Approximately 3,600 young people and their officials take part in the summer festivals
More information: www.eyof.org/2019-summer-baku/

What to expect this week....
The cycling in the EYOF takes place in the Velopark BMX cycling complex located on the Caspian seaside, a venue surrounded with beautiful scenery and plenty of cycling lanes!

The Individual Time Trials are timed events, and they take place near Shikhov beach, with the Girl’s event starting at 10 am (local time) or 7 am Irish time on the 23 July, and the Boy’s event starts at 5 pm local time, or 2 pm Irish time. Both races are 10km long – on one looped circuit. The start and finish are in the Velopark, and the race profile is relatively flat, with a slight 1.7km hill about 1.5km from the finish.

The Road Races are a bunch of events which take place on the 25th of July. The Girl’s event at 10 am local time (7 am Irish time) is a 50km race, two laps of a 25km circuit. The Boy’s event starts at 5 pm local time (2 pm Irish time) and is a 75km race, three laps of the 25km circuit.

The circuit itself starts and finishes in the Velopark, and includes a short and sharp tough hilly section in the city centre. It also includes the same 1.7km drag that the cyclists will have raced on in the Time Trial earlier in the week.

At the last edition of the EYOF Team Ireland enjoyed success in the Girl’s Time Trial, with Lara Gillespie winning a silver medal.


From:  Dublin

Event:  Time Trial and Road Race

Club: Scott Orwell Wheelers

Coach: Orla Hendron

Competing: Time Trial on Tues 23 July, Road Race on Thurs 25 July