And while the vets are going through a strong streak, the women are not to be dismissed! Corkagh Park has been the scene of many an Orwell triumph, and recently it was the turn of Helen Horan to take silver, and the following week Aideen Keenan celebrated her first win of the series.

Helen Horan has been enjoying the learning curve of Corkagh Park, taking a superb second in the B race in two weeks ago, besting her previous 3rd spot. A newcomer to racing this year, Horan has clearly learnt the right wheels to follow in the finale, sprinting past several more experienced riders on the home stretch to earn silver. Wheelworx and Dave Whitely provided the prizes on the night, with Towers CC taking their turn in organising.

With the gauntlet thrown down, last week Aideen Keenan clearly felt the need to better Horan's result. Indeed, such is her hunger for victory that she'd nearly sacrifice her children for the win! On a night organised by St Tiernan's CC, the bunch stayed together in the A race, until Keenan and DID Electrical's Anne Dalton (a long lost Orwellian) made a break for it.

Some mid-race drama from some tiny tifosi distracted from the quality of Keenan's ride, as she eventually rode solo to triumph. Indeed, as one wag and father of said tifosi put it, "the adrenaline from nearly riding over her own children must have spurred her on to win it". Like Horan, Keenan is in her first year of road racing, and the result shows she's getting the tactics right to match her obvious strength.

Keenan comes home in style

Ciara Kinch also won the women's event in Moynalty last weekend, but we'll cover that in another piece.


Corkagh Park Ladies' Racing - R6 (8/7/2014)

A Race
1 Anne Dalton (DID Ladies Racing Team)
2 Roisin Kennedy (Adamstown)
3 Catherine McAteer (Garda CC)
Prime: Anne Dalton (DID Ladies Racing Team)

B Race
1 Agnes Ruda (Naas CC)
2 Helen Horan (Orwell Wheelers)
3 Lyndsey O'Neill (Naas CC)
Prime: Lyndsey O'Neill (Naas CC)


Corkagh Park Ladies' Racing - R7 (15/7/2014)

A Race
1 Aideen Keenan (Orwell Wheelers)
2 Martina Cronin (Carrick Wheelers)
3 Sandra Fitzgerald (Garda CC)
Prime: Anne Dalton (DID Ladies Racing Team)

B Race
1 Sylvia Gallagher (BeSpoke Cycles)
2 Lyndsey O'Neill (Naas CC)
3 Agnieszka Kurzydlo (Naas CC)
Prime: Sarai Flynn (Waterford)