Aideen Keenan was once again on the podium in Corkagh Park, and regular placer Helen Horan matched her medal, all while the pair - along with Monica Marconi - organised the races and hosted a great evening of women's racing.

Orwell had the honour of hosting this week's racing, the second time this year. Unlike the first occasion, the sign-on sheets were dry enough to take a pen, and indeed the track was perfectly dry and grippy. Taking advantage of the great conditions, and to spice up the action, the race was run clockwise with a finish on the long, flat straight. Each race was 25mins plus 3 laps, with nine riders in the B race and fifteen in the A event - its numbers bulked by the upgrade of four strong riders from the B division.

In the B race, the prime at around the 15 minute mark provided the launchpad for the hostilities. Dublin Wheelers' Orla Montague, making her debut in Corkagh Park, took off in pursuit of the prime and just kept on riding. A reduced bunch sprint for second followed, and Helen Horan showed her sprint place two weeks ago was no fluke, once again grabbing second in the gallop, for the overall third.

The A race was settled in a bunch gallop. Several riders made attempts to get away but none managed to create a meaningful gap. Our own Aideen Keenan challenged Hannah Ormesher (DID Electrial) for the prime, but ultimately lost out for the mid-race prize. Ormesher went on to take the sprint to win the race by a couple of bike lengths, crucially getting to the final corner in first position and powering home. Niamh Stephens (UCD) got up for second and slo-mo camera footage was needed to separate Aideen Keenan in third and Catherine McAteer (Garda CC).

Many thanks to Aideen Keenan, Helen Horan and Monica Marconi for organising the night, and running a safe and fun pair of races on behalf of the club!

Keenans present Horan with her prize; Horan presents Keenan with her prize


Corkagh Park Ladies' Racing - R8 (22/7/2014)

A Race
1 Hannah Ormesher (DID Ladies Racing Team)
2 Niamh Stephens (UCD CC)
3 Aideen Keenan Orwell Wheelers)
Prime: Hannah Ormesher (DID Ladies Racing)

B Race
1 Orla Montague (Dublin Wheelers)
2 Angela Hoare (Ossary CC)
3 Helen Horan (Orwell Wheelers)
Prime: Orla Montague, Dublin Wheelers