Women's Crit League

Orwell have been running a women's crit league in some format since 2010, beginning with Winning Solutions sponsoring prizes before Wheelworx came on board. The Sandyford-based criteriums were ably run by Aideen Collard, Dave McLoughlin, Jen Sheridan and a merry band of helpers.

They gradually incorporated Corkagh Park when it opened, and eventually the league moved there but added a road race and time trials for variety. Orla Hendron and Mags Donnelly took on the task of organisers since 2014, and since then it has been organised by Orla with help from a combination of different members.

In 2018 we were delighted to have Appleby Jewelers come on board as sponsors.


Past winners

2010	Joanna Hickey		Usher IRC
2011	Sandra Fitzgerald	Lucan CRC
2012	Mel Späeth		Cycleways
2013	Patricia Buckley	Orwell Wheelers
2014	Sandra Fitzgerald	Garda CC
2015	Orla Montague		Dublin Wheelers
2016 Orla Montague Dublin Wheelers
2017 Kate Earlie St. Tiernans
2018 Jennifer Bates Team Gerard DHL


Want to get involved in women's racing? The Appleby Orwell Women's League is the perfect place to start and entries are now open.

The TT is over and the results are in!  The final round of the Appleby Orwell Women's League took place on a beautiful night in Glencullen. Caoimhe May (A) and Abby Burke (B) were winners in the TT and overall league winners were Annalise Murphy (A) and Muirna Twomey (B)   

Read on for full results:

It's all coming down to the final TT! The last round of the Appleby Orwell Women's League will take place on Tuesday the 24th of May and it is a return to the TT course in Glencullen. The first rider will be off at 7pm. The prizegiving will take place after the final rider finishes..

read on for more and the START LIST

Round 5 of the Appleby Orwell Women's League was supposed to take place in the glorious sunshine of Mondello.......

But May in Ireland had other ideas! Despite our crossed fingers, the putting out of the child of Prague and constant watching of weather apps/rainfall radars luck wasnt with us this time and racing was cancelled on the night.  Read on for league standings now..

Results of Round 4 of the Appleby Orwell Women's Crit League in Corkagh Park where new comer Abby Burke stole the show and tool the win in the B race while some new faces shock the A race up - an exciting nights racing in Corkagh Park!

REMINDER: Next weeks race is on WEDNESDAY the 18th of May in Mondello. More details including start times will follow.