Photo thanks to John Hammer



The Appleby Orwell Women's League has reached its mid way points so we can take a look at the standings with one more Corkagh park race, the road race in Mondello and the final TT to go.

So far we have had 43 women taking part in one or more of the races, with 1/3 of those dipping their toes in this kind of racing for the first time! Well done all and hopefully this is the start of more! 

Thanks to all our volunteers so far, you will all be rewarded in The GAP at the prizegiving night - the BBQ is well worth helping out ;)

And of course thanks to the continued support of Appleby Jewellers - our overall sponsor and The Bear Group who have supplied a toilet for the Corkagh Park races again this year.

On to the standings:

In the A race the junior riders are leading by example and leading the pack, if they keep their performance consistent they should be able to remain in the top of the A's.


Aine Reilly 23
Zoe Shakespeare 23
Annalise Murphy 22
Ellen Ni Cleirigh 20
Yvonne Doran 15
Jennifer Neenan 15
Richael Timothy 14
Agnieszka Samsel 10
Jennifer Bates 10
Isabelle Cairns 10
Caoimhe  May 9
Elia Tutti 8
Niamh Stephens 8
Kate Earlie 8
Rachel Hardman 7
Josephine Lynch 7
Danielle Travers 6
Zoe Greene 6
Beata Golczak 5
Fiona Guihen 5
Ellen Murray 5
Aishling Barry 5
Deirbhle Ivory 5

Photo thanks to John Hammer


In the B race it is also very much still to play for with a large group of riders within 7 points of each other and considering that 7 points are awarded to the 5th person across the line this can all change. All in all this means exciting times ahead and even if you are not racing it is worth a spin down to Corkagh, Mondello or Glencullen in the next three weeks to see how this unfolds!


Blanca Franco 26
Andrea Brennan 25
Natasha Eckel 22
Louise O Riordan 21
Róisín Kennedy 20
Carmel Moran 20
Marijke Beltman 18
Anna Hickey 17
Sinead Flynn 16
Teri Kelly 10
Shelley Horan 10
Katie Nolan 10
Christina Monaghan 10
Caoimhe Seymour 5
Nicola Mc Laughlin 5
Clara Fitzsimons 5
Áine Byrne 5
Gráinne Burrows 5
Emer Quinn 5
Maire Diggin 5
Heather Jameson 0



There are only 3 rounds to go but entries are still open  ENTER HERE: Appleby Orwell Women's Beginner League - Buy Tickets (   *** If you don't have a CI Racing Licence but you have already bought a single entry for the league you can now use the code "Orwell4" at the checkout to avoid having to buy the event racing licence again. **



Back to Corkagh Park for the last time this year.  Racing will start at 7pm with the B race followed by the A race at 7.30pm.

Corkagh Park track location: Map to Corkagh Park Track

*** As this is a league to encourage new riders into the sport of road racing and not everyone partaking will be part of a club, we would request In the Spirit of Fairness that clubs refrain from using Team Tactics when racing.  We would encourage a scenario where it is every woman for herself.

B race: 7pm start, 25 mins of racing plus 3 laps

A race: 7.35pm start, 30 mins of racing plus 3 laps

(race length may be changed on the night depending on conditions etc. Please arrive in plenty of time to warm up.  A racers can warm up before the B race but not on the main track during the B race.)



Group Name  
B Marijke Beltman
B Andrea Brennan
B Gráinne Burrows
B Áine Byrne
B Claire Diffley
B Kate Earlie
B Natasha Eckel
B Clara Fitzsimons
B Sinead Flynn
B Anna Hickey
B Shelley Horan
B Heather Jameson
B Nicola Mc Laughlin
B Christina Monaghan
B Katie Nolan
B Louise O Riordan
B Katie Reilly
B Róisín Kennedy
A Jennifer Bates
A Autumn Collins
A Yvonne Doran
A Zoe Greene
A Fiona Guihen
A Josephine Lynch
A Annalise Murphy
A Aine Reilly
A Agnieszka Samsel
A Niamh Stephens
A Danielle Travers



Due to the poor condition of the road on the Birttas circuit - particularly the main bridge Round 5 of the Appleby Women's League has been moved to Mondello.  This will be a single race with up to 4 handicapped groups on the track chasing one another with the B2 group off first at 7.30pm

Parking - there is plenty of parking at Mondello and it is on the "infield" section of the track. To access the parking you must drive across the finish straight. Please arrive in plenty of time so that you are not interfering with the warm up laps or race. Please stop and check the course is clear before crossing the track. Under no circumstance are cars allowed to drive the course.




Round 6 of the 2022 Appleby Orwell Women's League will take place on Tuesday the 14th of May. The last round is a return to the TT course at Glencullen.  Give it a go and see if your time has improved from round one

The first rider will start at 7pm.

A start list will be published on Tuesday lunchtime the 24th of May.

The prize giving will take place in The GAP after the final rider finishes. All riders & helpers will be welcome. THE GAP WILL BE DOING A BBQ FOR US WITH THEIR FAMOUNS BURGERS & VEGE BURGERS AVAILABLE.

TIME TRIAL - The course is just short of 5K, and rises gradually for the first 4 of that before kicking up sharply in the final kilometre. Segment on strava.