92 racers from under 10s to under 16s, boys and girls descended on a sunny, wind free Corkagh Park on Saturday the 12th of May for the Scott Orwell Wheelers Youth One Day Stage Race.

The event consisted of 3 stages – 1. A Time Trial with distances varying according to age, 2. a Scratch Race and finally 3. an Elimination Race.

The event has grown from year to year and in 2018 there were enough participants to run separate boys and girls races in the under 12, 14s and under 16s.

There was a fantastic race village atmosphere in Corkagh Park, each club had set up bases inside the track, there was a PA set up on the finish so that commentary could be given live as riders went past and as always with any Scott-Orwell event there were snacks!

Well done to all who participated and a special word of thanks to the organisers and everyone who helped on the day!

Under 10s final GC

Name Club TT Scratch Elimination Total Points Final placing
Darragh Ryan Swords 1st 1st 1st 300 1st
Eva Short SERC 2nd 2nd 2nd 285 2nd
Carrie Short SERC 3rd 3rd 3rd 276 3rd
Aoife McKenna Emyvale 4th 4th 4th 270 4th
Aaronn Willett Swords 5th 5th 5th 267 5th
Odhran Reilly Scott Orwell 7th 6th 6th 263 6th
Paddy Shine Skane 6th 7th 7th 262 7th


Under 12 Girls final GC

Name Club TT…… Scratch Elimination Total Points Final placing
Hannah Hayes Comeragh 5th 1st 2nd 284 1st
Niamh McGuinness Navan 6th 3rd 1st 280 2nd
Zoe Lindsey Dromore 2nd 2nd 4th 280 3rd
Aine Doherty VC Glendale 1st 3rd 7th 279 4th
Zoe Shakespeare Navan 3rd 5th 5th 270 5th
Aoibhe Murray Moynalty 4th 4th 6th 268 6th
Aine Reilly Scott Orwell 8th 7th 3rd 265 7th
Kate Healy SERC 7th 6th 7th 262 8th
Kelsey Mulroy Covey 9th 8th 8th 257 9th
Lauren Murray TC Racing 10th 9th 9th 254 10th


Under 12 Boys final GC

Name Club TT…… Scratch Elimination Total Points Final placing
Oisin May Scott Orwell 1st 1st 2nd 295 1st
Tom Kinsella Carrick Wheelers 2nd 2nd 3rd 282 2nd
Ethan Doherty Covey 10th 5th 1st 273 3rd
Tadhg Lenehan Navan 3rd 6th 4th 270 4th
Darragh Higgins Galway Bay 4th 4th 5th 269 5th
Ben Reilly Emyvale 7th 9th 6th 260 6th
Joseph Mullen Navan 7th 8th 10th 257 7th
Josh Callaly Navan 7th 11th 8th 256 8th
Ryan Fox Scott Orwell 12th 7th 9th 254 9th
Caolán McKenna Emyvale 5th 15th 12th 250 10th
Peter Geraghty Navan 5th 14th 13th 250 11th
Charlie Kelly Covey 10th 10th 17th 245 12th
Sean McGuinness Navan 15th 12th 11th 244 13th
Luca Holmes Scott Orwell 12th 13th 18th 239 14th
Tim Cronin Navan 16th 16th 14th 236 15th
Killian O'Brien Scott Orwell 17th 17th 15th 233 16th
Tim Soros Navan 17th 18th 16th 231 17th
Bryan Keelan Drogheda 19th 21st 19th 223 18th
Cillian Fox Navan 20th 20th 20th 222 19th
Odhran Brannigan Acorn 14th 19th DNS 155 20th


Under 14 Girls final GC

Name Club TT…… Scratch Elimination Total Points Final placing
Aoife O'Brien Lakeside Wheelers 1st 1st 1st 300 1st
Annie Roche Scott Orwell 2nd 2nd 2nd 285 2nd
Katie Reilly Scott Orwell 3rd 3rd 3rd 276 3rd
Emma Smith Navan 4th 4th 4th 270 4th
Ellen Murray TC Racing 5th 5th 5th 267 5th
Aoife Mooney Navan 6th 6th 6th 264 6th


Under 14 Boys final GC

Name Club TT…… Scratch Elimination Total Points Final placing
Adam Gilsenan Bohermeen 2nd 1st 2nd 290 1st
Andrew Kelly Moynalty 1st 2nd 5th 284 2nd
Conor Gallagher Errigal 3rd 4th 1st 282 3rd
Quillan Donnelly Kanturk 4th 3rd 6th 270 4th
Shea O'Kane Phoenix 4th 5th 4th 269 5th
Ruairi Byrne Scott Orwell 6th 8th 3rd 266 6th
Aaron Wright BCC 6th 6th 8th 262 7th
Sean Tarran Kanturk 8th 7th 7th 260 8th
Ciaran Connor Drogheda 8th 10th 10th 254 9th
Neil Kelso East Tyrone 10th 9th 11th 252 10th
Mikey Flaherty Lakeside Wheelers 13th 11th 9th 249 11th
Cian Lenehan Navan 12th 11th 12th 247 12th
Marcus Devins Yeats County 11th 11th 13th 247 13th
Darragh Lenehan Navan 13th 14th 14th 241 14th
Christopher Marshall Scott Orwell 17th 15th 15th 235 15th
Seamus Connor Drogheda 16th 15th 16th 235 16th
Michael Morris Galway Bay 15th 15th 17th 235 17th
Adam Nelson Usher IRC 18th 18th DNS 152 18th


Under 16 Girls final GC

Name Club TT…… Scratch Elimination Total Points Final placing
Caoimhe O'Brien Lakeside Wheelers 1st 2nd 1st 295 1st
Aoibhe Power Dungarvan 2nd 1st 2nd 290 2nd
Ellie Kelso East Tyrone 3rd 3rd 3rd 276 3rd


Under 16s final GC

Name Club TT…… Scratch Elimination Total Points Final placing
Cathal Gallagher Errigal 1st 1st 1st 300 1st
Eoghan Cooke Ounavarra 2nd 2nd 5th 279 2nd
Rowan Montgomery Ballymoney 2nd 7th 4th 272 3rd
Matthew Devins Yeats County 2nd 3rd 9th 272 4th
Ryan Geraghty Bikeworx 2nd 4th 7th 272 5th
Callum Owens Bohermeen 11th 6th 2nd 266 6th
Darren Foy Covey 6th 8th 8th 260 7th
Odhran Doogan Powerhouse 11th 10th 3rd 259 8th
Keith Mulroy Covey 13th 5th 6th 258 9th
Conor Murphy Scott Orwell 6th 12th 10th 254 10th
Ronan O'Connor Scott Orwell 6th 17th 12th 247 11th
Aaron Rafferty Bohermeen 13th 15th 11th 243 12th
Conor Short SERC 13th 9th 19th 241 13th
Andrew Ryan Scott Orwell 13th 14th 15th 240 14th
Miceal Hayes Comeragh 6th 20th 18th 238 15th
Christopher Neill Banbridge 18th 11th 16th 237 16th
Leo Gunning Lakeside Wheelers 13th 18th 22nd 229 17th
Sean Lenehan Navan 22nd 13th 19th 228 18th
Tommy Hogan Lakeside Wheelers 19th 21st 17th 225 19th
Conor Farrell Lakeside Wheelers 24th 23rd 13th 222 20th
Mark Langtry Lakeside Wheelers 25th 22nd 14th 221 21st
Johnnie McAuley Team Madigan 19th 19th 23rd 221 22nd
Cathal Woods Lakeside Wheelers 22nd 26th 19th 215 23rd
Liam McCauley Ballymoney 25th 25th 24th 208 24th
Alex Byrne Drogheda 28th 27th 25th 202 25th
Tom Wallace Lakeside Wheelers 27th 27th 26th 202 26th
James Willett Swords 6th 16th DNS 166 27th
Max Russell Drogheda 19th 24th DNS 145 28th


PHOTOS by Terry Reilly: Terry Reilly Facebook Photos