Noel and Kieran Hammond Memorials

Run as a road race for several years, it reverted to its original time trial format in 2013.

There are two trophies awarded each year - the Kieran Hammond cup and the Noel Hammond cup.

The Kieran Hammond memorial trophy was formerly the Kelly-Roche junior classic, organised by Kieran until his unfortunately premature passing. It used to get huge fields in the 90s, and only become the Vets and Cs prize when after years of steady decline we had a year that no Juniors showed up. It has always been an ambition to make it the Junior prize again, but 2015 was the first year we felt confident we'd get the numbers to do that.

The team prize was also resurrected in 2015 as another little nod to history, and lies in the origin of the Noel Hammond memorial trophy. In its very first incarnation in the 1930s it was known as the Rudge Whitworth 50, and was awarded in the 30s and 40s for the winners of a team 50 mile time trial (not the same as a 50 mile team time trial!), where teams of 6 were invited to compete and the best 4 times counted.


A beautiful August Saturday brought out a top class field for the Noel & Keiran Hammond TT.  Run over a new, flatter course this year and as part of the Cycling Ireland National TT League there were always going to be fast times!  Our congratulations to all those who raced and sincere thanks to all the organisers, marshals and helpers who gave up their morning to make the event happen. Read on for full results:

Following on from the success of the Virtual Stephen Roche GP this week, Quanta-Scott Orwell Wheelers are proud to present the Virtual Noel & Kieran Hammond memorial this Sunday 28th June 2020 at 09:30 am on RGT!

Scott-Orwell Wheelers are pleased to announce the 2019 running of the Hammond Memorial Time Trial Event on Saturday June 22nd. Now updated with results!

Congratulations to Conn McDunphy of Holdsworth Racing for the overall win at a very sunny Hammond Memorial TT this morning. Our own Dmitri Griffin was top Junior and walked away with the Kieran Hammond Memorial trophy.

Winners' list below - Full times to follow

Scott-Orwell Wheelers are pleased to announce the 2018 running of the Hammond Memorial Time Trial Event on Saturday June 9th.